• The Art of Zen
  • Posts
  • Why I’ve started a newsletter? Who am I? The Art of Zen

Why I’ve started a newsletter? Who am I? The Art of Zen

"Before getting involved in a serious conversation, take off your shoes, because this is Holy Ground"

Let this be the first rule, stamped in gold letters on the stone.

Why I’ve started this newsletter:

After talking to many of you, I realized how much things are complicated, chaotic and uncertain in our lives.

You might be lost, not knowing what the next step is. You might be loosing interest in what you’ve been doing for many years. It might be that you want to improve your life, but don’t know where to start. It might be that you are looking to find new meaning.
I’ve been there. We’ve all been there.

I/We might be in this situations right now as well - and the reason I decided to create this newsletter is precisely to constantly rediscover life.

Most importantly, I realized that at such moments in life we need sincerity, because sincerity is the most reliable refuge for every person.
I hope that you will find shelter here in this incredibly interesting bustle of life.

I have been writing various texts and notes for quite a long time, and for a long time I did not understand: Why do I need it? And I asked myself this question many years ago, but only now I have received an answer to it.
Like any truth, it was very simple - and if you look at Yin-Yang, then the "word" will be precisely that dividing line - the border between dark and white, hard and soft, order and chaos.

I hope that these various notes will help you see the world in a different perspective, which is often very necessary, and most importantly, I sincerely hope that I can give you faith in a difficult moment, and, of course, share the good moments together.

And now, to the second part..

Who am I? What do I do?

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a Pope, and after watching TV series “The Young Pope” with Jude Law (by the way, definitely MUST WATCH), my desire to become one only reinforced. Too bad I was baptized as an Orthodox.

Many years fast-forward, and now I find myself studying in the university to become a doctor. Dropped out - decided to switch my major to International Law. Maybe dropping from my Masters Degree as well.

“Who am I?” - is a question to be asked several times throughout your life. I can answer this question in many ways:

  • We are what we eat;

  • We are the sum of our 5 close friends;

  • We are the sum of our interests;

I will leave the first two bullet points for now as I don’t think that it is relevant.

Moving to the third point - which you might find interesting - “What are my interests”.
My interests throughout my life were:

  • Philosophy: I enjoy reading works by ancient philosophers like Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle. I’ve fallen in love with the philosophy of Stoicism and Buddhism from the first sight.

  • Psychology: Jordan Peterson has struck me like lightening with his approach. Archetypes, Motivation, Emotion, Perception, Cognition, Learning. Cognitive biases and how they affect our decision-making. Behavior modification techniques.

  • Entrepreneurship: I enjoy creating complex systems and explore different business models.

  • Learning languages: I find it rewarding to learn new languages, as it helps me connect with people from different cultures and understand their perspectives.

  • Exploring new things: Whether it's traveling to new places, trying out different cuisines, or learning a new skill, I am always eager to explore and learn new things.

Generally speaking, I love to do hard things: I’ve always been interested in erasing the lines between the monastery and everyday life, between the sacred and the mundane.

I strongly believe that the best way to get to known someone is to involve in conversation and speak. In this regard, the best way for me to connect with all of you is through this newsletter.

What to expect in this newsletter:

In this weekly newsletter “The Art of Zen” I will be writing about:

Applicable Philosophical concepts: It will include concepts from Ancient times to Contemporary: from Stoicism and Taoism to Jordan Peterson;

Art: Web3 Art and Artists, Generative Art. How to become a better artist;

Meta-skills:
•How to be Mindful: tips and techniques;
•How to Improve Storytelling - How to craft compelling narratives;
•How to develop Focus, Curiosity;
•How to Find and Maintain Purpose;

Archetypes: The Archetype of the Hero and its prevalence in myths and legends across the world;

I will do my best to include a variety of topics in this newsletter, so that everyone can find something interesting and useful.

My goal is to create a community of like-minded individuals who are interested in self-improvement, exploring new ideas, and finding meaning in life. I hope that this newsletter will inspire you to think deeply, question assumptions, and strive to become the best version of yourself.

Thank you for joining me on this journey.

Let's begin!

Hey, thanks for reading!

Always looking forward to hearing your feedback. Feel free to message me on Twitter. Let's start a conversation and grow together!